Updates on Hold

Yesterday, I was involved in a rather severe car accident. On my way home from work my car was struck on the passenger side at an almost 90 degree angle (T-Bone, as it may be). I suffered a large laceration to my forehead and bruising on my right side (along with various nicks and scrapes). I'm not sure how long I will be out, but it will take a few days, at least, for me to get back to my daily routine.

In the meantime, I missed the Saves the Day show last night. I had tickets and was on my way home to meet my wife so that we could go, but never made it home - until today. Anyone go? How was it?



Review: Coheed and Cambria - Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star4, Volume 2: No World For Tommorrow:

Upon first listen this is the album I wish they had made after IKSSE3. Musically, it fits between that album and Good Apollo, Vol. 1 despite the storyline fitting better this way. It's got slow, sappy songs, big honking rock songs but no Suffering (though it is a damn catchy tune, just not what I want out of Coheed). Makes me rethink my decision to skip over their show in a few weeks.

  • TheirSpace, which is currently streaming the entire album
  • Purchase the Basic Version for $7.99
  • Purchase the Deluxe Version for $17.99
  • 10.19.2007

    Review: Foo Fighters - Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace:

    Upon first listen it's another solid record from Grohl and Co. Nothing amazing, nothing bad, all of it what you expect from the band.

  • TheirSpace
  • Stream the entire album
  • Purchase for $9.49
  • 10.18.2007


    Review: Dashboard Confessional - The Shade of Poison Trees:

    Upon first listen this is one giant curve ball of an album. Just as I though Chris was getting comfortable in his big band (and releasing the excellent Dusk And Summer), he decides to return to his acoustic roots. Which is great and all, but then he does so without any of the emotion and youthful exuberance exhibited on previous albums. But, just as Dusk took some getting used to, I'm sure this one will find its way into a fairly steady rotation.

  • TheirSpace
  • Stream clips from the entire album
  • Purchase for $9.89
  • 10.15.2007

    Review: LCD Soundsystem - LCD Soundsystem:

    Upon first listen this was an extremely tolerable electronic album. Granted, some of the tracks weren't as strong and the whole thing ran a bit long, but I could see myself listening to this on a regular basis; if I cut it up and put the best tracks on a single CD.

  • HisSpace
  • Stream clips from the entire album
  • Purchase for $11.91
  • 10.12.2007

    Review: Knife Fight - Crisis:

    Upon first listen it's straight forward hardcore. Ten tracks, less than fifteen minutes. You already know if it's for you.

  • Purchase for $10.75 (LP)
  • 10.11.2007

    Review: Beirut - The Flying Club Cup:

    Upon first listen this blows Gulag out of the water. Seeing as how I didn't really care for that album, it wasn't that difficult. Still, I like where he went with this album and find it a wonderful compliment to Armchair Apocrypha.

  • TheirSpace
  • Stream the entire album
  • Purchase for $9.95
  • 10.09.2007

    Review: The Go! Team - Proof of Youth:

    Upon first listen this is way better than Thunder, Lightning, Strike which I loved.

  • TheirSpace which currently has five tracks from the album
  • Purchase for $12.50
  • 10.08.2007

    Review: Fiery Furnaces - Widow City:

    Upon first listen it's a return to form for the duo, distancing themselves from their past two releases. Still, I just didn't fall in love with it like Blueberry Boat and Gallowbird's leaving me to conjecture that maybe that's enough Fiery Furnaces for me.

  • TheirSpace
  • Their MySpace Profile has Ex Guru and Uncle Charlie streaming
  • Purchase for $12.50
  • 10.03.2007

    Review: Clutch - From Beale St. To Oblivion:

    Upon first listen this is a very decent hard rock album. Nothing all that special nor exciting.

  • TheirSpace which has Electric Worry and a few other non-album tracks
  • Purchase for $9.42
  • 10.02.2007

    Review: Capgun Coup - Brought To You By Nebraskafish:

    Upon first listen it's like watching a group of 8-year-olds make pasta. They just throw everything against the wall to see if it sticks.

  • TheirSpace
  • Stream the entire album
  • Purchase for $10.91
  • 10.01.2007

    Review: Kevin Drew - Spirit If:

    Upon first listen this album was exactly what I expected. Rejects from Broken Social Scene paraded under their name in an effort to sell more copies of an album. In the end it lacks the cohesiveness and the looseness of BSS but retains its strong production values.

  • HisSpace
  • Stream the entire album
  • Purchase for $11.99