Review: One.Be.Lo - S.O.N.O.G.R.A.M.

One.Be.Lo - S.O.N.O.G.R.A.M.: The production is a little weak, but that's overcome by his skill.

  • Stream clips from about half the album
  • Purchase for $10.26
  • 8.30.2005

    Review: New Buffalo - Last Beautiful Day

    New Buffalo - Last Beautiful Day: It was just getting stale when it ended. Because it was only stale for about one song, it's a really good slowcore album.

  • Stream the entire album
  • Purchase for $14.98
  • 8.29.2005

    Review: Kano - Home Sweet Home

    Kano - Home Sweet Home: A solid MC a little off the beaten path of hip-hop, but not far enough to be called avant-garde.

  • Stream clips from the entire album
  • Purchase for $19.96 (import, so wait till it gets released locally)
  • 8.28.2005

    Review: Indian Summer - Discography

    Indian Summer - Discography: Not as anthemic as I Hate Myself, but artier, so it works out. If you like good, quality screamo such as the aforementioned artist, check them out.

  • Download the entire album
  • 8.25.2005

    Review: Chiodos - All's Well That Ends Well

    Chiodos - All's Well That Ends Well: Excited about this band after their EVR signing and the demo tracks I heard. Too bad they decided to change their sound from original to carbon copy.

  • One Day Women Will Become Monsters
  • Purchase for $10.00
  • 8.24.2005

    Review: Bucket Full of Teeth - I, II and III

    Bucket Full of Teeth - I, II and III: Dark, heavy, dense and sparse. Really, really cool band doing some good things. There's better, but not by much.

  • Download Selective Amnesia/These Frequencies Are Ours (not a clip, Selective Amnesia is 0:15 and the latter is 0:33 long)
  • Download Empy Dreams/Empty Face (same deal as above)
  • Download Basic Delusions/11302 (and again)
  • It's out of print, try eBay
  • 8.22.2005

    Review: Diamond Nights - Once We Were Diamond

    Diamond Nights - Once We Were Diamonds: A little gimmicky, but it succeeds. I don't know that it would do so if it were a full length, but as an EP, I'm impressed.

  • Download Destination Diamonds
  • Purchase for $3.90
  • 8.20.2005

    Review: The Lucksmiths - Warmer Corners

    The Lucksmiths - Warmer Corners: Really good indie-pop. Didn't realize this band's been around forever, now I need to check out some of their back catalog.

  • Download A Hiccup In Your Happiness
  • Purchase for $10.00
  • 8.19.2005

    Review: The Orange Peels - Circling The Sun

    The Orange Peels - Circling The Sun: 'Safe' is how I would describe their brand of indie pop/rock, never seeming to be daring enough to venture anywhere near the sun.

  • Download Something In You (wma)
  • Download Long Cold Summer (wma)
  • Purchase for $10.00
  • 8.18.2005

    Review: Assfactor 4 - Discography

    Assfactor 4 - Discography: Missing what many consider their better album, but consisting of just about everything else, I figured this would be a great way to try and get into the band. And while that may be true for those who like chaotic screamo and songs that sound like the previous one, it didn't work out so well for me.

  • Purchase their two LPs for $6.99 total
  • 8.17.2005

    Review: Various - Now That's What I Call Indie Covers! Volume 1

    Various - Now That's What I Call Indie Covers! Volume 1: Excellent idea. Wish they were studio versions as some of the live recordings are very poor in the quality department.

  • Download the entire album
  • Internet-only compilation. Not for sale.
  • 8.14.2005

    Review: Coheed and Cambria - Live at the Starland Ballroom

    Coheed and Cambria - Live at the Starland Ballroom: Not the best recorded live album I've heard, but it's sufficient. Most of the songs contain the requisite extra 'crunchiness' from being a live show. In the end, it succeeds because it makes the listener jealous for not being in attendance.

  • Stream clips from the entire album
  • Purchase from Sony for $14.98
  • Purchase from DeepDiscountDVD for $11.96 (no shipping)
  • 8.13.2005

    Review: Clap Your Hands Say Yeah - Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah - Clap Your Hands Say Yeah: This year's 'it' band. And for good reason. While not without its faults, there is huge potential for this band and its future recordings. Arcade Fire meets Bloc Party

  • Download In This Home On Ice
  • Download Upon This Tidal Wave In Young Blood
  • Download Over And Over Again (Lost And Found)
  • Purchase for $11.99
  • 8.12.2005

    Review: Cloud Cult - Advice From The Happy Hippopotamus

    Cloud Cult - Advice From The Happy Hippopotamus: I have the hardest time reviewing bands like this, because there's no feasible way to judge it accurately on the first listen. There's a lot of promise, but it could easily be redundant. Only further listening will yield a decision. I will say, that rhyming 'hippopotamus' with 'mattress' is pretty lame. Couldn't it have been 'hippo' and 'pillow'?

  • Download Living On The Outside Of Your Skin
  • Download Car Crash
  • Purchase for $14.00
  • 8.11.2005

    Review: Jason Collett x2

    Jason Collett - More Motel Love Songs: Forgettably inconsistent singer-songwriter.

  • Stream clips from the entire album
  • Purchase for $10.74

    Jason Collett - Idols Of Exile: Forgettably more consistent singer-songwriter.

  • Stream clips from the entire album
  • Purchase for $20.69 (not a typo, it's not released in the States yet and thus this is an import)
  • 8.10.2005

    Billy Corgan - TheFutureEmbrace

    Billy Corgan - TheFutureEmbrace: I had little faith, but it was rather enjoyable. Could have done without the cover and it could have been a touch shorter.

  • Stream Mina Loy (MOH), All Things Change and TheCameraEye
  • Purchase for $11.03
  • 8.08.2005


    Review: Fall Out Boy - Take This To Your Grave

    Fall Out Boy - Take This To Your Grave: New Found Glory meets Saves the Day (first two albums) with an equally annoying voice that takes some getting used to.

  • Stream either clips or the full songs fromt the entire album (must have Windows) Music & Video -> Discography -> Take This To Your Grave
  • Purchase for $7.59
  • 8.06.2005

    Review: Judge - What Was Meant

    Judge - What Was Meant (Discography): Not quite a discography, missing two demo tracks available only on vinyl. That aside, I never realized just how heavy they became. If you've heard Judge before, you know if you like it. If you've never heard Judge before, but think you might want to, this is a single disc collection of (virtually) everything they recorded.

  • Stream a clip of Where It Went
  • Purchase for $11.00
  • 8.04.2005

    Review: Low - The Great Destroyer

    Low - The Great Destroyer: New fans will be found, but old fans will still enjoy, for it's their best work yet.

  • Stream the video for The Monkey
  • Purchase for $10.12
  • 8.03.2005

    Review: Mental - Planet Mental

    Mental - Planet Mental: Despite the hype, I was expecting just another hardcore record. What I got was a progressive hardcore record that will rival Bane's The Note for Hardcore Album of the Year.

  • Download Earthlings
  • Purchase for $9.79
  • 8.02.2005

    Review: Dressy Bessy - Electrified

    Dressy Bessy - Electrified: Despite only reading the headlines concerning the piece NPR did comparing this band to Coldplay, I knew I had to get a hold of their newest album. Next time, I know not to listen to NPR. Not only do they not sound like Coldplay, they are a terrible band. It's like a bad version of The Donnas meets a more annoying version of Sheryl Crow.

  • Download Side 2
  • Purchase for $15.98
  • 8.01.2005